Day two begins

It seems strange that a new day is already beginning – but it is. As we are in Bilbao we will be starting with a tour of the medieval city and the Guggenheim. Then we will board the coach and head off to Pamplona. This is the town that inspired Hemingway’s “The Sun Also Rises”. En route we spend time in Loyola, visiting the house of St Ignatius and the basilica.

That will be fantastic because I have always been inspired by St Ignatius and his story. I am sorry to say that I have never been on an Ignatian retreat and I hope to rectify that. But I have used some of the exercises and so there is something very powerful for me about visiting the saint’s home town.

The prayer of St Ignatius is a good but hard one to pray. I suppose being a soldier he was used to this kind of commitment but am I?

Lord, teach me to serve you as you deserve;
to give and not to count the cost,
to fight and not to heed the wounds,
to toil and not to seek for rest,
to labor and not to ask for reward,
save that of knowing that I do your will. Amen.

But now I must go to breakfast.

