And finally

It is a month since we arrived back from the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela and this really is the final chapter of my blog.

I have still been getting messages from fellow pilgrims saying that they continue to bask in the glow of what they did in travelling the Way, however they did it. I was not aware when I began planning the pilgrimage that it would have such a profound effect on so many people, me included. As I said initially, I had never been on this holy journey; I’ve made many pilgrimages but this one was to be like no other.

A romanesque statue of St James at The Cloisters

A romanesque statue of St James at The Cloisters

I have just been in the USA and was delighted when I visited The Cloisters Museum in New York to find there examples of architecture and mediaeval religious artefacts from northern Spain and southern France. Many of the pieces there were from Burgos and Leon – and of course there were amongst them statues of St James as a pilgrim.

A wooden statue of St James the pilgrim at The Cloisters

A wooden statue of St James the pilgrim at The Cloisters

So I have not escaped the Way, and I don’t want to. Wherever we travel in life we are travelling the way with the one who is the way, the truth and the life, Jesus Christ, and supported by the prayers of St James we ask that at the end of our own travels we will reach that heavenly city where we can be in the presence of God for ever.

Merciful God, whose holy apostle Saint James,
‚Äčleaving his father and all that he had,
was obedient to the calling of your Son Jesus Christ
and followed him even to death:
help us, forsaking the false attractions of the world,
to be ready at all times to answer your call without delay;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.
Amen.

Wherever you travel, whatever way you follow, may God bless you. Amen.

